top of page
Stay In The Know:

Café Crawl w/ BlogMySecondAttempt

If you don’t know who BlogMySecondAttempt is, you need to go and check her blog out (I will leave a link at the end of this post so you can go check her posts out), she is one of my very close friends from good old college days, before my bloggingness began. Since we are both bloggers, we decided to ‘collab’ if you will and we went on a café crawl. You may have heard of a pub crawl, but we went on a café crawl. In total, we visited 4 different cafes in Manchester (Northern Quarter) within the span of maybe 5 hours, I’ll be talking about two on my blog, and the other two will be written about on Chloe’s blog.

The two cafes I will be talking about in my blog are called ‘Fress’ and ‘Fig and Sparrow,’ on Chloe’s blog you can find out about our adventures to ‘KoffeePot’ and ‘ChapterOneBooks.’ I will leave links to all four cafes at the bottom of this post alongside Chloe’s blog.

Fress, my god this is the most aesthetically pleasing café to ever exist. Chloe and I were walking past on our way to a different café, and we walked past this and we realised we had never seen it before which was odd considering how many times we’ve walked down that road before and we just had to go in especially after seeing the cakes in the window. The interior design inside of Fress is the most beautiful and unique bit of designing I’ve ever seen, they had black chairs but with green seats and booths that were completely green, which is a different choice and I would never personally buy green furniture but it worked so well with the black and white tiled flooring and white tiled walls. So, like at this point I’m already in love with this place and then we met our server, and I think she was called Robyn if I remember correctly, and it just made me fall even more in love with this place. For me, I believe that customer service makes a place so much better, and this woman was the cutest person and told us what she thought she liked, and made conversation with both Chloe and I, and it was the sweetest thing ever. If anyone from Fress is reading this, please give her a raise or something, she deserves it.

Anyways, moving onto the food, we went for desserts and desserts we got. So, the pastries are all handmade at this place and you get to choose what you want from the window section, and we saw the most beautiful looking cronuts. Cronuts are like a hybrid between croissants and donuts, I’m not an expert but I think it’s the croissants texture but cooked and shaped like a donut, and it had Nutella in the middle of some layers and was topped off with a bright, thick layer of pink icing and oh my god it was just amazing. I’m not even lying, simply thinking about it is making my mouth water. The cronuts only cost £4.50 each, and they were worth it. They were so delicious and sugary, but I’m not going to lie I didn’t finish it, and I regret that decision.

(thanks for some of these pics chlo)

We also went to another café called Fig and Sparrow, now this place had another cute server. It was his first day and it was so sweet but sad at the same time seeing how nervous he was. I ordered a double espresso shot and he was literally shaking when he brought my shot out and I really did just want to give him a big hug and say that it’s okay. Fig and Sparrow are also a cute café and have the cutest tumblr-esque lights dangling down from the ceilings. Furthermore, they are currently collecting old books at the moment so if you have any old books that you’re thinking about throwing away, I would highly recommend you go and take them into a place that are collecting books such as Fig and Sparrow (obviously maybe don’t travel across the country for this), if you can’t find anywhere, I’m sure charity shops will take books in.

There was a slight negative with this café and before I tell you, it is a petty thing to be negative about, but they didn’t sell hot chocolates. I mean, how can you have a café without selling hot chocolate available! However, my double espresso shot was very nice and it was served in the CUTEST red espresso mug, it was just so cute.

Anyways, I think that’s it for this one, let me know your thoughts on my first ever collab post and let me know if you’ve ever been/planning to go to any of the cafes mentioned! Don’t forget to check out Chloe’s blog, I have left the link below alongside the café websites. Make sure to check out my Instagram and twitter which should be in the sidebar if not, @potential019 init #plug. Stay safe and stay blessed my friends!

BlogMySecondAttempt (Chloe’s blog) - https://blogmysecondattempt.blogspot.co.uk/

Fress - http://fressrestaurant.com/

Fig and Sparrow - https://www.figandsparrow.co.uk/

Chapter One Books - https://www.chapteronebooks.co.uk/

KoffeePot - http://www.thekoffeepot.co.uk/


bottom of page