top of page
Stay In The Know:

My PGCE Journey pt. 2

Hi. It’s been a minute. And by minute, I mean 2 or 3 months. Deep apologies of sorts. It’s currently December 25th, I’m on winter break awaiting season 2 of YOU on Netflix. I was doing some reading for an assignment I have due in a while listening to Harry Styles ‘Falling.’ What an absolutely gorgeous song. Anyways, in my first PGCE journey post, I was 3 weeks in. I am now about 3 months in.

In all reality, I have become awfully busy over the last few months and I have become even more forgetful than usual hence the silence on my blog. However, I’d like to think I’ve been keeping things fairly upto date on my instagram (lifeoffax). So, PGCE. Since the last time I did this, I have completed one of my assignments and gotten through the first big block of my teaching experience. I have 1 essay, 1 research project and 2 reports, then we are doneeeeee! In my head, I see it as being half way through the course. I am still feeling super positive and happy about the whole ordeal.

I have made such wonderful mates through this experience and it makes it so much easier because I’m part of like 4 group chats with different people and it makes it so nice to have other people asking ‘mundane’ questions too all while being part of each others support system. Due to the circumstances and everything being crammed into this one year, there are certain groups of friends I have made and we all become mega engrossed into each other's' lives when we’re in uni. I assume one of the reasons engrossing yourself in someone else’s drama is to get away from your own. Can’t lie, it’s amazing.

My teaching experience is going thrillingly well. I get along well with the staff at the school and the children, oh my lord, the children are just angels. They are so adorable. I have been finding planning and PPA time really smooth, my class mentor is uber supportive and I adore her, she is amazing at what she does and is great when I’m teaching. As wonderful as it is to receive constructive criticism, it is a fulfilling feeling being complimented with the work you are doing and my class mentor is ace at this. She always has positive feedback to provide me with. My professional mentor, my university visiting tutor and my class mentor have all observed my teaching and they’ve all said that I look so comfortable teaching children and that I was made for this profession. When I tell you comments like that make every tiny little sadness in my life worthwhile, believe it.

I mentioned in my last post, that I was yet to feel an ounce of stress. If I am being completely honest with you all. I have felt stressed and more so overwhelmed but I have not felt it to the point where I feel so done with life. I have not felt it to the point where I feel helpless and undone. So far, I have felt a small bit of stress and there is no doubt in my mind that I won’t feel the uttermost stress in January and Feb, but we will see. I think because of my support system and the balance I have in my life, I am yet to feel pure stress. I have been able to manage my time well and I don’t leave things to the last minute. As I did with the last one, I will leave some tips at the end of the post.

Mental health, my mental health at this moment in time I can’t say is in the greatest place. I have spoken to some people about this and I have my support for any issues that I have. To put it simply, I feel sad a lot. It is completely normal. I know that this year is a lot and it is advertised as being intense. This is just as a heads up for anyone who struggles a lot with their mental health or may not have the support system they need in place. It gets better. I am always here, drop me a message on instagram or email me if you need support. The university also offers support for this, email your personal tutor and they will be able to advise you. The staff at the university are very emphatic about mental health and I assure you, you will receive the help you need.

There is a wise man, he is called Shawn Mendes (lol), he once said that nerves means you care. When I say that is a wonderful, mind easing bit of a quote, it truly is easing. If on this course, you find yourself becoming nervous about teaching for the first time, being observed for the first time, random moments of nerves, assignment dates, presentations, ordering a coffee, whatever it may be. It is 100% normal to feel nervous. Nerves often means you care, whether it is about your teaching or the coffee, it is normal. Teaching is one of those things, once you stand up in front of the class once, it becomes second nature. What an amazing profession we are all going into.

A tip, 100% be part of at least one group chat with other students who are on the same course. It makes it easy when you have a question or are curious about how others are doing. It makes life feel normal because everyone else is also moving at 20000 mph. Another tip, stay on top of things, get readings for assignments done weeeeeks in advance or do it bit by bit over a few weeks, just so then you aren’t stressing closer to the time of constructing the actual essay about readings. Anyways, I have been typing for so long, I hope you’ve all enjoyed me rambling. Stay safe and stay blessed my friends.


bottom of page