top of page
Stay In The Know:

Being Grateful

Feeling grateful about the things we already have in our lives, or have achieved is something that is not spoken about enough. In today’s society of a world that is consumed by social media and the way we are portrayed matters more, and the things we want in life is more important than just taking a bit of time and realising what we already have in life. Everyone has different things that they can feel grateful for, some stuff I might find grateful, another person will see as magical, or will think it’s not that great. Perspective is important. Whenever things feel a little much, stop. Breathe. Think about the bigger picture. Put things into perspective. It’s so important to take a step back sometimes and just be thankful, and look.

I feel immensely grateful for the family and friends that I have in my life. Sometimes I take them for granted. It is consuming when you get caught up in work and materialistic things, and it is incredibly difficult to detach yourself from that aspect of yourself and your world. But, we are strong, so take a moment and tell your loved ones you love them, you appreciate them, you enjoy their relationship. Life can be tough, it can be horrible, and you never quite know when everything will end, but it is a humane feeling to feel loss for someone, and sadly, this is a feeling we will all go through in life. There is nothing certain in life aside death. So take a second, and go tell your loved ones you love them.

Another things I am grateful for is my job. I am working at a school as a teaching assistant. It’s an SEMH school, so we work with children who have had an incredibly tough start to life, and most of them have behavioural difficulties, making it difficult at times to teach them since they are unsettled sometimes. When I get entangled up in the behaviour that is not commonly deemed as ‘normal’ it is vital that as a teacher, I think about all the positives they’ve done in their lives. I feel honoured and grateful to have the opportunity to teach these children, they need positive adults in their lives, and I am eternally grateful that I get to be that adult for some of these children. They are going to change the damn world one day.

The final things I’m going to talk about that I am grateful for, is my life. I am so grateful I was born with all my limbs, two eyes, two arms, two legs, a roof over my head, food on my plate, a family that loves me and I love back, friends who I consider family, my job, the people I have the opportunity to meet, the money I have to buy things that I desire. During this month of Ramadan, take time to make a list of all the things that you are grateful for. Try your best not to take life for granted. Think of all the achievements you have made. In 2 months I will (Inshallah) graduate and complete my teaching degree next year. My friends have achieved magical things too, nurses and teachers, solicitors in the making. Absolutely blissful, we are incredibly lucky. Take time to shine light on your blessings and your happiness. Put things into perspective. Things will get better, I promise. Your journey is already written for you, good vibes, there are good things coming.

Stay safe and stay blessed, my friends!


bottom of page