top of page
Stay In The Know:

How to Relieve a Dry, Itchy Scalp

Hello, I am here to tell you all about how amazing tea tree oil is for plenty of things, but has helped me mainly with a dry and itchy scalp! So I bought 100% essential tea tree oil from Superdrug’s for £3.49, which I think is good price. Many people (probably not many people to be honest lol) are aware that I had a dry scalp, the dryness did lead to it becoming itchy. It pissed me off so I googled remedies for this. Hence, I went out and bought tea tree oil.

Now that I’m properly thinking about it, I’m almost certain that dryness in the skin and scalp is genetic, only because my dad suffers from it too LOL. Welp, here goes, essentially what I do is mix a few drops of the tea tree oil with jojoba oil and shea butter, then massage it into my scalp and the rest of my hair. I have two ways of using it, but they’re quite similar lol, use as you please, but you can use my guidance if you want!

  1. A deep, intense, thorough massage into the scalp to ensure the scalp can absorb all the nourishing nutrients. I’d wear a shower cap and sleep with it on. Sleeping with the oil fresh on the head allows the scalp to have extra time to absorb. In the morning, I wash it off with my usual shampoo and conditioner (herbal essences bio renew, nourish, in case anyone was interested).

  2. Use the oil as a pre shower oil, and massage it into the hair then wash off in the shower. Pretty straight forward lol.

I have also learnt that tea tree oil is a good essential oil (when mixed with other oils because it is a strong oil), for the skin, especially acne prone skin. I haven’t tried this because my skin isn’t acne prone but my friends and family who are, have told me about how good tea tree oil is for the skin. I would recommend researching it further whether you want to use it on your skin.

That’s about it for this one, please don’t yell at me if it doesn’t work for you because it works really well for me. Let me know what you think, your feedback and if you use it, let me know your thoughts or improvements on it! Stay safe and stay blessed, my friends!


bottom of page