top of page
Stay In The Know:

West Midlands Safari Park

A couple of weeks ago, I went to the West Midlands Safari Park and I had the best day of my life. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I paid £26.40 for a student ticket for general admission into the safari/zoo and the rides that the safari has.

First things first, breakfast. The most important meal of the day. Which we missed... So, we had store bought packaged chocolate crepes from the local Asda, which wasn't ideal, but didn't ruin the day nevertheless. In the park, you can choose whether to do the safari drive or the actual zoo first, we chose to do the safari drive first and good lord it took forever. It was an amazing experience and being able to feed the animals was amazing and grim at the same time, (basically when these bloody animals eat, they leave their saliva everywhere and it was so disgusting but so so cute!) But it lasted pretty much two hours so we were all getting grouchy and annoyed and hangry because we'd already been in the car for two hours before it just driving to the safari!! Having said that, most of the big animals (the lions and tigers etc.) were asleep which kind of put a damper on the whole safari drive, but it was amazing and I took some amazing pictures!! There were gazelles, big lions, tigers, wild dogs, deer’s, giraffes and probably more but I can’t remember... After the safari drive, we had a little picnic and it was the cutest thing ever. Following this, the rest of the guys wanted to go to the adventure theme park (rides and stuff) before seeing the rest of the zoo. Now, I'm not into rides and stuff because I don’t like the feeling the that you get from rides, but I did go on the hippo ride and the water ones. Like it takes your breath away and it's so exhilarating and crazy and sometimes I'm just too pussy to even think about getting on big rides. They're super scary and terrify me. But I did get on some so man’s proud. We then went to see the rest of the zoo and saw the hippos, goats, penguins and all the smaller animals like bats and ugly creepy insects.

Towards the end of our trip, we walked round the gift stores they had and I picked up some goodies!! I bought some rock which is an obvious choice, you can’t go out and see rock candy in a different place and not buy it. Also, I bought the famous Gourmet lollipops. It's basically lollipops but of different flavours, from left to right, on the pack I bought there's cola, candy floss, buttered popcorn, marshmallow, peanut butter and bubble-gum. I've never liked cola flavoured stuff so I handed that one over to my niece and the buttered popcorn one wasn't too appetising either, so I gave that to my sister. The others however and bloody fabulous. Who would've thought that lollipops high key taste the way the manufacturers wanted them to. It's amazing!! Furthermore, I am a big, big fan of fudge, whether it's Cadbury’s fudge or just standard fudge, when I saw the caramel & sea salt fudge, I H A D to buy it, and let me tell you, it tasted p e n g!! I had to mention the food-y stuff I bought before I could talk about anything else I had got. When it comes to places you visit like a safari zoo, an aquarium or a theme park, it's odd to buy proper souvenirs, because let's be real, who really wants to buy a cup with the name printed on for £9?? Not me! Instead, I always pick up a key ring and some stationary, because they're the best things you could buy (aside food). I enjoy having key rings from different places I've been as a little reminder of all the things I’ve done. Following that, I had bought a small jotting note book and a penguin pencil!

Overall, I would highly recommend West Midlands Safari Park, but the only thing I would say is that if you're coming with children or with a person who doesn't have any patience whatsoever, maybe avoid the safari drive through or go at a time where there aren't many cars, meaning no traffic, meaning you'll get through it a lot quicker! It was honestly such an amazing experience and was super fun, and is one of the best places to go on maybe a date, or a day out with the family or your pals! Anyways, this is it for this one, I hope you've all enjoyed it and let me know if you've been and enlighten me about your experiences at West Midlands Safari Park! Stay safe and say blessed my friends!


bottom of page